Album Info
Track Listing
Lose Me In The Sand Lose Me in the Sand, the second location-based album by singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Mark Growden, is crafted around the banjo, chosen by Growden for its timbre and its place in the history of American folk music. It is a tribute to roughshod beginnings of American music, the spirit of resilience and fortitude that music represents, and to Growden’s own rural mountain roots in Pinetown, a small, depression-stricken Northern California logging town. Rehearsed and recorded in Tucson, AZ, the new album follows on the heels of his accordion-driven Americana-noir masterpiece Saint Judas (2010) recorded in Oakland.

The album is rooted in Tucson’s country music scene, with guitarist Clay Koweek, fiddler Tim O’Connor, dobro player Connor Gallaher, bassist Ian Stapp, harmonica player Tom Wallbank and guest percussionist Andrew Collberg contributing their homegrown sensibilities. With Growden as music director, the arrangements grew from guided improvisations. Each musician crafted riffs to add nuance and depth to the interpretations of Growden originals and iconoclastic covers of classics by Aretha Franklin, Bruce Springsteen, Janis Joplin and Francis Scott Key.

Recorded in Tucson, AZ. Released February 15, 2011

Download only: $9.99 Download Now  

  1. You Ain’t Never Been Loved  (3:14)
  2. Settle in a Little While  (2:11)
  3. Bones  (4:24)
  4. I’m on Fire  (3:00)
  5. Killing Time  (5:49)
  6. Lovin’ Emma  (2:51)
  7. Takin’ My Time  (6:37)
  8. John Hardy  (2:47)
  9. Shady Grove  (4:19)
  10. Star Spangled Benz  (4:25)
Album Info
Track Listing
Saint Judas
As a composer, multi-instrumentalist and performer, Mark Growden has released several critically acclaimed albums. He has completed many US tours, performing at venues such as the Fillmore and Great American Music Hall in San Francisco and Tonic and The Knitting Factory in New York. Growden’s newest album, Saint Judas, is his first studio album of songs in eight years. Recorded live in the Bay Area, it is a stunning exploration of moments of pain and catharsis, love and transformation, tenderness and desire.Saint Judas is a rich and haunting collection of stories and melodies that embraces and celebrates the saints and sinners in each of us.

Recorded in Oakland, 2009. Released March 16, 2010.

Download only: $9.99 Download Now  

  1. Undertaker
  2. Delilah
  3. Saint Judas
  4. If the Stars Could Sing
  5. Been in the Storm so Long
  6. I’m Your Man
  7. Faith in my Pocket
  8. Everybody Holds a Piece of the Sun
  9. Coyote
  10. Handlebars
  11. Inside Every Bird
  12. The Gates/Take me to the Water
  13. All the Pretty Little Horses
Mark Growden – vocal, accordion, handlebars, baritone sax
Alex Kelly – cello
Seth Ford Young – bass
Myles Boisen – guitar
Chris Grady – trumpet
Jenya Chernoff – drums

Produced by Oz Fritz and Mark Growden
Illustration by Mona Caron
Album design by Jenya Chernoff

© MARK GROWDEN | rsneight designs